Let the Journals Begin!

‘Tis the season. Finally! A few hardy souls have left Springer Mountain in Georgia on their way to Katahdin here in Maine. I haven’t followed any AT (or other) thru-hiker journals from start to finish before, so I’m looking forward to hiking along in spirit with a handful of backpackers this year. Given that I’m planning to section hike, I won’t have an online journal of my own (who wants to see my scribbles languishing on a journaling website for a decade-ish?), so I’ll have to draw my motivation and energy from the exploits of others.

Best wishes to all thru-hikers tackling any of the Big Three this year. I’ll try and keep up with you as you gain your trail legs and strive toward your ultimate goal…

Leave a Reply

