The Talking Becomes the Walking

Starting tomorrow. Sort of. I’ve managed to hitch a ride with a friend who has some business in the Monson area, and he’s agreed to stop me at the AT trailhead there so I can at least sniff the start (northbound) of the Hundred Mile Wilderness. Can’t wait to actually see it and step onto it!

In addition, this same friend has agreed to a quick Saturday morning hike on the carriage trails around Eagle Lake in Acadia National Park, which I will use as a shakeout cruise for my as-of-yet unspoiled Osprey Kestrel 28 and Black Diamond Ergo Cork trekking poles. I just need to grab a couple more items on the ten essentials list, and I’ll be good to go.

It’s been tough waiting for the endless Maine winter to, well…end so that I could physically start my transition to backpacking/hiking. Spring has continued to stagger in pretty slowly, but the weekend looks great, and I’m excited to expose my new equipment and old runner’s body to the rigors of hiking.

Next week, I’ll have an actual hiking experience and photos to put up on my hiking blog.

As it should be.

 

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” – Henry David Thoreau

 

Leave a Reply

