This Whole “Slowing Down” Thing? It’s Working

“I believe that there is a subtle magnetism in Nature, which, if we unconsciously yield to it, will direct us aright.” – Henry David Thoreau

 

The other morning I went for a run on my favorite fields and woods trail. That’s not unusual for a runner; we run. But what happened after I finished was out of the ordinary for me. While I don’t keep a strict post-run regimen, I do tend to gravitate towards some combination of walking and light stretching before spreading a towel on the front seat of the car, cracking open my hydration-of-the-day and heading for home.

After this run however, I did the walking and stretching thing, then wandered off-script. I went to the car, got my Gatorade G2 (Raspberry Lemonade, if it matters), and returned to the fields to sit on the top row of bleachers overlooking the recreation complex to partake of the day. It was a bright, sunny 63 degree morning with lower humidity and a nice breeze. I planted myself on a shiny aluminum bench and watched the trees rustle, smelled the grass, felt the early morning sun on my back and just let my mind wander for a bit while I rehydrated. As many miles as I’ve logged there over the past five years, I’ve never once slowed down to enjoy the view. But that day, I did.

Morale of the story? The reduced speed and “enjoy the journey” mentality of my hiking time is beginning to have an effect on my running days.

Not only did I slow down and appreciate the morning, but I didn’t look at my Garmin one time to check my pace while I was sitting there.

Honest.

Leave a Reply

