It’s Thanksgiving. So I’m Thankful

I’m not prone to engaging in trendy things like listing something I’m thankful for every day in the month of November. That doesn’t mean I’m not thankful. Far from it. I’m just too busy writing to engage in random time fillers.

But this year, my first of adding hiking/backpacking to my diminished-by-design running regimen, has given me lots to be thankful for:

  1. I’m thankful for the good health to be able to attack my newfound passion for slowing down to enjoy the view. Good health cannot be overrated. And neither can the ability to take advantage of it.
  2. I’m thankful for all those who have come before, from Emma Gatewood to John Muir, who understood that a good vigorous hike in the woods does wonders for the soul and spread that good news through word and deed.
  3. I’m thankful for the legions of hikers who selflessly devote their time to keeping exhaustive journals and publishing them in places that newbies like me can access as both to-do (or not-to-do) guides and inspiration.
  4. Along the same lines, I’m thankful for people like Philip Werner over at SectionHiker.com who review hundreds of items of gear with a high level of detail so that ignorant slobs like me can make informed choices, and who reply to email queries with great advice.
  5. I’m thankful for the jaw-dropping deals I’ve gotten on gear this year. As a temporarily income-free writer and marketing guy, cheap deals on great gear are not only important, but mandatory.
  6. And finally, I’m thankful for those of you who follow this blog and read my ridiculous scribblings every Thursday. I appreciate the follows, likes and comments more than you know.

 

I hope the holiday finds you happy, healthy and, if you’re able, hiking.

Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

