One Year Later

This is my 52nd post, which means that I’ve actually managed to find something to write about every Thursday for a year. While the content might not have been spectacular at times, I’m glad to give myself credit for consistency, at least.

I learned a whole lot during 2016, most importantly that I have so much more to learn. There’s an education inherent in experience, so I’m sure to discover more as I simply get out there and hike/backpack. In the meantime, I’m grateful to the bloggers and reviewers and journal keepers who have contributed to my learning so far.

I’ve found it easier than I expected to scale back my running miles in favor of hiking. The fact that I no longer race probably has a lot to do with that. Whatever the reason, I’ve enjoyed slowing down to enjoy the view.

I managed only seven actual hikes for a total of 38 miles, a paltry figure compared to my ambitions. But an injury smack in the middle of the best hiking weather, coupled with a lack of transportation conspired against my lofty goals. But now that I’m healthy and have a year of research and light experience behind me, I’m looking forward to making 2017 a significantly better hiking and backpacking year.

A move to Virginia would sure aid in this. My son-in-law loves the outdoors and is excited to backpack with me. The weather is more favorable to a longer hiking season. I’ll live closer to the nearest AT trailhead. All good things. I’m committed to making that move in the coming year.

Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “One Year Later

  1. Mike Fuller Author January 5, 2017 / 9:02 am

    Any day on the AT is a potential benefit to the story of your soul. Those of us who have hiked the AT in “Rocksylvania” have a special chapter in that story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kddolley January 5, 2017 / 9:40 am

    I totally agree. My short trips on the AT have done wonders for my soul. And my writing.

    I’ve heard the horror stories about your section of the Trail. I’ll make sure to wear knee length aluminum boots when I eventually get there 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

