It’s Almost Time for Vicarious Hiking!

Last year I strolled through the online AT hiker journals and chose two to follow as the individuals pursued their thru hikes. I picked folks close to my age group (by guessing ages via photo staring, a decidedly less accurate but less frightening method than stalking them with an ask) and went with a solo male athlete (who crushed it, averaging over twenty miles per day) and a married couple who overcame some early obstacles and mid-hike issues to make their planned roost atop the Katahdin sign. I sent them all a hearty congrats upon the completion of their dream, though I had hoped to get out to Monson to say hello in person before they launched into the Hundred Mile Wilderness. The best laid plans, blah blah blah…

cropped-cropped-20160415_114204.jpg

This year I might grab three journals to latch onto. I’ve already found a solo male and solo female to follow, now looking for a married couple. These intrepid souls have no clue how much they will encourage me to participate in my own hiking adventures in the coming months. It’s so motivating to see others doing something I hope to do, though my slog down the length of the AT, due to time and financial constraints, will be accomplished in sections.

The solo guy begins his hike February 4th. Yikes. He seems prepared to deal with the nasty weather that sneaks up on one at elevation during that time of year. I’ll be following along as he pushes through, and looking forward to warmer months to do some mileage conquering of my own.

In fact, I’m scheming my first section hike now. In Virginia, not here in Maine. If I could knock out a couple hundred miles in April…

Sounds like a good subject for next week’s post.

Leave a Reply

