Ordered, Finally!

Three months ago I posted about my discovery of a sleeping pad from a cottage manufacturer that intrigued me. I had intended to order one shortly thereafter, but life and its corresponding fiscal responsibilities got in the way, so I postponed.

Well, as has been the case with the purchase of much of my gear, I was able to order one after receiving a gift card, this time for Father’s Day. It’s due to be delivered on Saturday and I’m anxious to mess with it, as I’ve never had a self-inflating pad before. My experience with sleeping pads up to this point has been with the summer season air mattress, those of the blow-air-until-you’re-dizzy type. It will be a treat indeed to watch it expand itself to near-capacity with just a few breaths from me to complete the process. Theoretically, at least.

Sadly, the first time I use it may be on a carpeted concrete floor. I’m still without my own mode of transportation for another week or two, so no immediate trips to the woods are planned. It will still be fun to give it a whirl with my sleeping bag, though using a 20-degree sack inside an air conditioned home pinned at 70 degrees might be a bit of overkill.

I wonder what the neighbors would think if I pitched my tent on the front lawn and broke it in for real…

Leave a Reply

