First Virginia Hike, Planned

Thirty miles from where I sit typing this post lies a 1243-foot incline known around these parts as Sharp Top. It’s a 2.7 mile round trip hike, according to AllTrails.com, and ranges from easy to strenuous depending on which hiker you ask. My daughter and son-in-law are anxious to take me there this weekend, and I’m looking forward to my first foray into the trees of Virginia, albeit (for me) a brief one.

Given that it’s a short jaunt, I’m faced with a dilemma: Do I toss twenty or so pounds into my trusty Kestrel 28, grab my trekking poles and use it as a weighted practice hike, or just strap on my running bottle carrier, leave the poles and pack at home and enjoy the day? The motivated AT section hiker in me wants to do the former. But the dad and father-in-law says kick back and enjoy the ride, uh, hike.

I guess I’ll wait and see how the planning stage goes tomorrow. They’re in NYC right now, enjoying a brief vacation. They might be too tired of walking the streets of The Apple to want to exert themselves too much this weekend, which means dad might end up bringing his daypack filled with snacks and water bottles for all, which would add a third and ultimately final option to the above list.

I guess I’ll know for sure Saturday morning. However it plays out, I’m looking forward to some quality family time among the rocks and trees…

Leave a Reply

